Delayed Again

A few weeks ago I bent over to grab my backpack. I was about to put the last few things into it that I needed for my flight day. The sun was streaming in the window promising a good day for my PPC/ICC (pilot proficiency check/instrument competency check).

It wasn’t to happen however. As I reached for my backpack, something gave way in my back. I’d had back pain in the past, and usually it went away in a couple minutes, or even a few hours. This pain didn’t just go away.

After sitting on the couch a bit, I texted my chief pilot with whom I was to fly. I explained what was happening as my back grew more and more painful. He told me to take it easy and rest. We could do the check flights on Monday. Since it was Friday, we wouldn’t lose much time and I’d have the weekend to recover.

That was four weeks ago. Since then I’ve learned that I’d not just pulled a muscle, but I had a herniated disc in my back. Much of the time since then I’ve been laying on my back in bed waiting. Now, after several weeks of recovery time doing gentle exercises at the direction of a physical therapist, I’m able to move about on my own somewhat. I still can’t bend over however, and sitting or standing for more than a few minutes rapidly becomes uncomfortable and even painful.

I’m not sure what’s next. Hopefully in a couple more weeks I’ll be able to return to work to a limited degree, and maybe even start flying a bit here and there. It could also be that I’ll end up needing to travel for more extensive medical care. Right now, all I can do is wait.

Regardless of what’s to happen though, I’ve been feeling generally quite positive. I’ve had more time to read, catch up on some thank-you notes, play some games, read to my kids, and even write some blog entries. It’s been a good, if somewhat boring few weeks.

What are some things that you would suggest to fill my time? Perhaps you have a book to recommend or an activity you’ve used to pass the time while bed-ridden?

5 thoughts on “Delayed Again

  1. So sorry to hear about your setback! Have you read Wind, Sand and Stars? Best flying book, ever. By the same author that wrote The Little Prince. Another good read: The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel. It will get you thinking . . .
    P.S. I’m a horse shoer and I have found the supplement MSM very helpful with anything that causes my body to suffer. You might want to look into it.
    Best to you! Dawn
    https://soulhorseride.wordpress.com/2015/09/18/my-horse-my-airplane/
    https://journalofdawn.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/family-of-flying-charlie-joe-and-mack/

    Like

Leave a Reply

